Hot Girls Pearls #need

Hot Flush fan

So the English summer has arrived. Cue sleepless nights, people moaning about the heat, saying that we’re just not prepared for it, BBQ’s emerging rusty and filthy from the shed, some startling sights in terms of outfits that are only worn in the summer but shouldn’t really be worn at all, shops selling out of fans and people wondering why we don’t routinely incorporate air conditioning into buildings in the UK and the sound of ice cream vans. Ahhhhhhhh summer.

For those of you- mostly female- who ‘enjoy’ your own personal summer with each hot flush, you’ll already know that extra sources of heat are extremely unwelcome. That’s me, right there. I’m thrilled to see that hot flushes and sweats feature large on the list of possible side effects when taking Tamoxifen which it the hormone/endocrine therapy I’ll probably be on for 10 years (that’s all) to keep my breast cancer at bay. I’ve listed a selection of the potential side effects leaving some out for reasons that you don’t want to think about when you’re reading a blog……….

  • Hot flushes and sweats
  • Feeling sick and indigestion
  • Eye problems
  • Headaches
  • Feeling dizzy
  • Leg cramps
  • Tiredness and lack of energy
  • Skin rashes
  • Hair thinning
  • Weight gain
  • Changes in mood and concentration

I simply can’t wait.

So it was with this in mind that I was thrilled to be introduced to Hot Girls Pearls last week by a fellow over-heater. Essentially they are stunning pieces of jewellery that you keep in the freezer and they chill right down, snap on when you’re ready or feel the need and they stay cold on your skin for hours, cooling you too. They even come with an insulated purse to cart them about in so that you have them to hand just when you need them. Invented by Connie Sherman as a solution to her own menopausal symptoms they look like gorgeous jewellery and yet I can see would be a life saver for those moment’s where you feel so uncomfortably hot you could burst.

I love their tag line:

 “Global cooling. One woman at a time.”

They come at a price ($140 /£90) for the necklace, but divide that by the likely number of hot flushes Tamoxifen is going to add for the next 10 years to my already high total and the cost unit per flush might be quite low. You do the math.

I grudgingly returned them to their cool owner.

20150626_163019You can read about them here http://www.hotgirlspearls.com

For a demonstration, see here

Whoopi Talking About Hot Girls Pearls

20150626_162806

 

 

 

 

I was going to blog yesterday but sat at my keyboard my creative energy disappeared and I chose not to write. I carried on sorting through the years’ worth of stuff in my office at home; for various reasons it was time for a clear out and reorganisation and it was both cathartic and depressing at the same time. Happily though it ended on happy times and positive memories.

The irony and the metaphor of clearing out is not lost on me. I know that whilst it was a practical need, an emotional journey process was taking place too. Sorting, sifting and revisiting were all the order of the (hot) day and my goodness, had I kept some stuff!! I believe that there is a real element of fate in what comes under your nose at any given time and the fact that I discovered all the notes about my redundancy in 2002 heightened a sense of what’s gone before and how the impact of events shape who and what you are. They were painful to read and think about and shredding some of them was indeed a good feeling.

I also found references, thank you cards, notes from clients and so on, all positive connections with professional humans who made the effort to ensure that I knew that I’d made a positive professional and personal difference to them. It was replenishing and I guess, healing on some level.

Last night was my weekly call to my older person who I have befriended through The Silver Line. Unknown to me I was being monitored, every so often our calls are listened in to by a regional manager to check that the spirit of the service is being upheld. You only know when you get an email the following day, which I got this morning. Thrilled with the feedback, I needed a set of Hot Girls Pearls to calm my blushes not flushes this time!

Wear sunscreen people

x

6 thoughts on “Hot Girls Pearls #need

    1. Aimee, thanks for getting in touch and giving us the link. I know that many women with breast cancer need help during their treatment and as many of the drugs trigger the menopause everything and every suggestion is very much welcomed. We need all the help we can get!

      Like

  1. Love hot pearls better than ice cubes!! Also wear a hat! If you get right sunhat makes back garden feel as though in St Tropez! Hugs and love Tit knitter!! Xx

    Like

Happy to hear from you.......

