When life gives you lemons……

lemonsYou know the saying ‘When life gives you lemons, make lemonade’.

Wikipedia tells us that ‘it is a proverbial phrase used to encourage optimism and a can-do attitude in the face of adversity or misfortune. Lemons suggest bitterness, while lemonade is a sweet drink’.

Well we need lemons please……….

Several reasons, but the first and foremost is the sad and sudden passing away of my Father in Law yesterday afternoon. He’d been living with Alzheimers for several years now, but events took a turn for the worst yesterday and sadly he’s no longer with us. It’s another lesson that life is short and the people around you are important. You might not always be in contact with them but nonetheless they are a part of your history and who you are.

Do me a favour and contact someone who you’ve been meaning to connect back with. Right now. Go on. I’ll wait.

Back so soon?

Another reason for our lemon(aid) request is that this week is surgery week. On Thursday I’m going to be having a Wire Guided Wide Local Excision and a Sentinel Lymph Node Biopsy. There’s a bit of information on these links, no graphics (so no one needs to see things that they don’t want to!) I’m feeling ok about the surgery, in fact bring it on. I don’t like living with a tumour, however small, inside me and I know it’s irrational but the fact that something has already been chopped out of it makes me think that the disruption to the site is not helpful. The rational part of my brain tells me that they wouldn’t have done the core biopsy if that in itself wasn’t safe, but hey ho!

I currently have some stiches in my mouth, since on the same day I got my diagnosis I also had some dental surgery to remove impacted roots from a recent partial extraction of a molar. This involved me having some of my upper jaw ‘shaved’ as the surgeon so gently put it, to enable him to tug the roots out. It wasn’t a joy and I’m struggling to find a positive tilt on this to share here, so I’ll be true to myself and tell you that it wasn’t the best way to spend 20 minutes. Currently my mouth feels quite tender and I suspect the stiches are about to move/dissolve and everything is just rearranging itself which is causing the pain.

Following Thursday’s surgery it’s likely that I am going to find moving my right arm and shoulder uncomfortable for a while and I already have some exercises to do to make sure that I don’t end up with a  Frozen Shoulder. Initially the Breast Nurse suggested simple shrugging so I’ll probably watch some Jeremy Kyle TV rubbish to aid the prompts for this one.

Another suggestion was that I try to do things with my left hand, at least for the first week or so to give my right side time to recover. So this morning I’ve made an attempt to test out my ‘personal care routines’ using my left hand predominately. I’m right handed, so this is tricky. Brushing your teeth, drying your hair and other <coughs> tasks when performed with your least natural side are bloomin difficult. Needless to say I’ve had some spectacularly bad outcomes from this morning’s efforts and more, much more practice is needed or I may need some of you to help post-surgery 😉

My other lemon themed connection here is that some people have sent me links to information about the impact of lemons on breast cancer cells and whilst I’m happy to skim read stuff currently, I’m not sure my head is exactly in the right place to take on board everything that is being circulated. However, the fact that people have cared, researched and forwarded to me means a great deal. Hugs to you.

I did however, pop some in my sparklies this morning.

Any left-handed tips?

 

12 thoughts on “When life gives you lemons……

  1. Don’t know any leftie tips, but my mum’s hospital tip was pyjamas – that way, when they want to examine things, you need only disrobe the top half rather than having to flash everything you’ve got……… xxxxx

    Like

  2. Left handed tip alert……don’t use your left hand to wipe your derriere, use toilet paper instead! Far more hygienic!! 😉

    Like

Happy to hear from you.......

