Let me introduce myself

RAWelcome,

Simply because you’ve stumbled upon this blog you’ve inadvertently become a member of our team. Sorry about that! Which team? we hear you cry. Well you’ve joined #TeamPositive a natty, eclectic, global and caring team of people who’ve all pledged to be on the right side of the pitch for me and my family as we in turn stumble through the new landscape that’s just revealed itself to us in the form of Breast Cancer.

I’m the Team Lead. What an honour. My name is Rosemary and I’m 53 years old and wasn’t really looking for another team to lead, but somehow this one has found me. Shucks (rhyming slang).

As of today (25th April 2015) I’m very newly diagnosed and awash with paperwork, web links, a whole new language, an immediate future that looks slightly different to the one I was planning and whole new way of being.

Think of it this way

“As physicians, we look at patients with cancer and compare them with people who have died, and pat ourselves on the back because they are alive. But as the patient, you are comparing yourself to how you were before you were diagnosed or treated for cancer. That is the big difference”

Dr Susan Love

My current prognosis is good, the tumour is small, has been caught early, it’s thought to be non-aggressive and also the current projection is that it hasn’t spread. Tick, tick, tick. Surgery and probable radiotherapy is planned and that should be that! I know that the surgery might point us in another direction, but for now that’s the plan.

I’m blogging about this experience because I love to write and have written as part of my work for many years and so it’s a natural outlet for me, a creative brain dump and a way of connecting with you all, whoever you are – family, friend and those of you who I might never get to know but for some reason you’ve stopped by. As I said, welcome to #TeamPositive

Rosemary

x

12 thoughts on “Let me introduce myself

  1. Hi Rosemary, welcome to the ever-expanding club of those of us who have travelled this path before – 3 times in my case, and I’ve now lived longer since the first diagnosis than before it! First lump found in 1980 when I was 34 with a five year old and a 2 year old. Interesting to see how the treatment has changed over the years, and the good news is that the survival rates are now brilliant – especially when found early like yours. Attitudes have also changed – even friends used to cross the road to avoid me as they felt awkward and didn’t know what to say – but here we are now happily talking about it to complete strangers. Well done, cysters, and keep up the good work. Just remember you are still Rosemary, don’t let the cancer define you. With you all the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sammy, how lovely to have a new Cyster 🙂
      Thank you for your gloriously positive message from the heart. I am so pleased to hear of your progress and cancer free status. You are so right about the context that I find myself in and I’m grateful that the amount of information and knowledge about all cancers is so comprehensive and used for good.

      Your last few sentences are a great reminder- noted!

      R
      x

      Like

  2. Hi Rosemary, sorry to hear your news but on a positive note, my sister in law was diagnosed at 40 and has just been told no signs in her body, 9 years later. Hers was very aggressive so yours should be a shorter adventure. She was always very determined not to let the bugger get her. Ups and downs ahead, but we will all be behind you all the way. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad your going for the gap year version, if you ever need a coffee pal you know where I am. I only work two days a week now ! X tina

    Like

Happy to hear from you.......

